Home > Uncategorized > Updates are pending …

Updates are pending …

Just a quick note to my regular readers (and the various itinerant visitors). There are a couple of substantial posts pending release, however as a direct result of some recent engagements they are delayed … momentarily.

Amongst these is the fact that I have no intention of being an unattributed charity consultant for NBN Co (most commercial businesses choose to pay for expertise, the people I met clearly indicated they expected to consume it for free). Whilst I believe that it is important for Australia’s future prosperity that the NBN initiative is executed as best as possible, there are several approaches that can achieve or approximate this outcome.

With specific regard to NBN Co, my stance now will be to wait for material to be published, then I will provide a public critique of that material as/if required. Given they are paying for some of the best minds in Australia and have industry clambering to support them, then of course they will continue to get everything right the first time and I’ll have a very easy job to do, “in theory”. However “in practice”, current experience so far tells me otherwise. If I sound a little miffed, it’s because I am.

Aside: It really is very difficult to design the future when you best understand the present/past and then you’re pressured to commit a decision. Vision cannot come from wisdom exclusively. More importantly, disruptive vision mostly happens when you intuitively know that something untried will succeed, despite everyone’s experience and history warning you to the contrary. Australia needs a disruptive vision for the NBN in order to effect an innovative, competitive and open marketplace; otherwise we risk recreating the marketplace we have now, just with different names on the players.

  1. October 20, 2010 at 11:53

    Update: Over the coming weeks I’m going to be progressively releasing some of the material I’ve been holding back on since this post originally went up, as much of what I predicted is (sadly) coming to pass.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment